Medicine Hat Mavericks win President’s Cup

07/30/2018 9:08 AM -

Around the Horn - July 30



President’s Cup
Congratulations to the Medicine Hat Mavericks on winning the 2018 President’s Cup for being the WMBL regular season pennant winners.

The Mavericks finished with a 38-9 overall record and will have home field advantage throughout the WMBL playoffs.  The last time Medicine Hat were President Cup winners was in 2013 when they won 39 games.

The Weyburn Beavers took home the Eastern Division crown. The Beavers ended the 2018 campaign at 37-11. 


A True Utility Player
During Okotoks win over Lethbridge on the final day of the season, the Dawgs Eddie Sanchez brought new meaning to the term utility player.

Sanchez a product of Central Arkansas played all nine positions during the game. He had a hit and a walk and scored a run. Sanchez also faced two batters in the eighth inning, striking out one.


King of the Closers
Okotoks closer Craig Smith also made history during Sunday’s game against Lethbridge. Smith earned his 15th save of the season, which set a new WMBL record.

The old record was held by Regina’s Sam Brunner who registered 14 saves in 24 appearances during the 2016 WMBL season.

Smith appeared in 21 games for the Dawgs in 2018.


WMBL Playoffs Are Here
First pitch for the WMBL playoffs will be Tuesday night as Game 1 in all four first round series get under way. Game 2 will be played on Wednesday and Game 3 in each series is set for Thursday night.

In the Western Division:
Lethbridge at Medicine Hat
Edmonton at Okotoks


In the Eastern Division
Moose Jaw at Weyburn
Regina at Swift Current

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »