Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

WMBL Awards

07/31/2017 11:34 AM -

WMBL 2017 Awards Announced
WMBL President Kevin Kvame announced the 2017 League Award winners today. The winners were voted on by selected officials from each team. The selection process was done after a very competitive season that saw entertaining baseball played throughout the WMBL. 
Most Valuable Player - Kody Funderburk (Okotoks Dawgs)
Kody Funderburk from the Okotoks Dawgs was named the WMBL MVP.  The Queen Creek, AZ product had a spectacular season. He played in 45 games with a .339 batting average and he led the WMBL in home runs with 15 round trippers. He also made nine pitching appearances and did not allow a run while striking out 11 and earning one save. 
Rookie of the Year - Blake Adams (Swift Current 57's)
Swift Current’s Blake Adams was award Rookie of the Year honours. The junior outfielder from Tarleton State University in Texas was very impressive in his first WMBL season. Adams hit .360 with eight doubles and 12 homers. He also registered 54 RBI and 18 stolen bases. 
Canadian Rookie - Matt Lloyd (Okotoks Dawgs)
The Okotoks born Matt Lloyd impressed the home town fans all season long. Lloyd who attends Indiana University had a 24-game hitting streak in 2017. Overall Lloyd hit .402 with eight homers, 38 RBI and seven stolen bases. 
Coach of the Year - Phil Curtis (Weyburn Beavers)
Phil Curtis has been the Weyburn Beaver’s head coach for five years. This season he led his team to a second-place Eastern Division finish with a 30-18 record. Curtis also won the Coach of the Year award in 2015. 
WMBL Award Winners
Most Valuable Player
Kody Funderburk -  Okotoks
Rookie of the Year
Blake Adams - Swift Current
Canadian Rookie
Matt Lloyd - Okotoks
Coach of the Year
Phil Curtis - Weyburn
WMBL All Stars
The Okotoks Dawgs sported the top record in the WMBL at 35 and 13. They also led the WMBL with eight League All Star selections (5 first team and 3 second team). 
The Regina Red Sox had six players named to the All-Star squads, three to each team. 
Eastern Division leader Swift Current followed with five selections (3 on the first team and 2 on the second team).
Lethbridge had four players named to the second All Star team while Edmonton had three selections (2 first teams and 1 second team). 
Medicine Hat had two players named while Weyburn and Fort McMurray each had one member make the All-Star team. 
Brooks, Melville, Yorkton and Moose Jaw did not have a representative named to either team. 
First Team
Blake Adams - Swift Current
Broderick Rodocker - Regina
Justin Erlandson  - Regina
Second Team
Zach Hanna  - Okotoks
Jesse Hilyard  - Lethbridge
Jordan Schulz  - Regina
Third Base
First Team
Eddie Sanchez - Okotoks
Second Team
Riley Campbell - Swift Current
First Team
Zane Takhar - Edmonton
Second Team
Greg Cullen - Okotoks
Second Base
First Team
Matt Lloyd - Okotoks
Second Team
Blake Rowlett - Medicine Hat
First Base
First Team
Kody Funderburk - Okotoks
Second Team
Alex Bishop - Lethbridge
First Team
Bodie Cooper- Swift Current
Second Team
John Hawk  - Okotoks
Designated Hitter
First Team
Erik Sabrowski -  Edmonton
Second Team
Aden Campbell - Regina
Utility Player
First Team
Blake Rowlett - Medicine Hat
Second Team
Brett Esau - Swift Current
Starting Pitchers
First Team
Bobby St Pierre - Swift Current
Anthony Balderas - Okotoks
Tyler Hodder  - Fort McMurray
Second Team
Jake Waters - Regina
Connor Dinaro - Weyburn
Erik Sabrowski - Edmonton
Relief Pitchers
First Team
Preston Minor - Regina
Second Team
Dawson Moser  - Lethbridge
Closing Pitchers
First Team
Tyler Burdett -  Okotoks
Second Team
Chris Stodolka - Lethbridge