2016 WMBL Award Winners!

07/31/2016 10:54 AM -

What an incredible year it has been for the WMBL. Friday marked the final games of the regular season. Sunday the 2016 WMBL Playoffs will kick off, and it is sure to be an exciting finish. Check below to see the first round matchups and gametimes:


West Division

(1) Okotoks Dawgs Vs. (4) Edmonton Prospects @ Seaman Stadium @ 7:05pm.  

(2) Medicine Hat Mavericks Vs. (3) Lethbridge Bulls @ Athletic Park @ 5:05pm. 

East Division

(1) Swift Current Indians Vs. (4) Weyburn Beavers @ Mitchell Field @ 7:05pm. 

(2) Yorkton Cardinals Vs. (3) Regina Red Sox @ Jubilee Park @ 7:05pm. 

All games are best of 5 series. The first two games will be played at the home park of the higher seed. The next two at the home park of the lower seed, and if necessary the 5th game will be at the home park of the higher seed. Good luck to all of the teams participating in the 2016 WMBL Playoffs starting today!


Below are the 2016 WMBL Award Winners. Awards were voted on by the head coaches of each team in the league. Congratulations to everyone named a 2016 Award Winner!


2016 WMBL Award Winners
Award  Team Name
Most Valuable Player Swift Current Indians Alec Humphreys
Rookie of the Year Swift Current Indians Bodie Cooper
Canadian Rookie of the Year Lethbridge Bulls Mike Moffatt
Coach of the Year Swift Current Indians Joe Carnahan
Top Hitter of the Year Edmonton Prospects Cory Scammell
Top Pitcher of the Year Yorkton Cardinals Kody Rock
President's Trophy (Best Record) Okotoks Dawgs (33-14, .702)
2016 WMBL All-Stars
1st Team All-Stars Team Name
Pitcher Yorkton Cardinals Kody Rock
Pitcher Swift Current Indians Bobby St. Pierre
Pitcher Okotoks Dawgs CJ Lewington
Relief Pitcher Okotoks Dawgs Anthony Balderas
Relief Pitcher Swift Current Indians Aidan Goodall
Closing Pitcher Swift Current Indians Ryan Pope
Catcher Swift Current Indians Bodie Cooper
1st Base Okotoks Dawgs Kellen Murruffo
2nd Base Medicine Hat Mavericks Nolan Rattai
3rd Base Okotoks Dawgs Michael Gretler
Shortstop Swift Current Indians Alec Humphreys
Outfield Edmonton Prospects Cory Scammell
Outfield Swift Current Indians Liam Goodall
Outfield Okotoks Dawgs Brendan Rose
Designated Hitter Medicine Hat Mavericks Alex Alders
Utility Swift Current Indians Thomas DeBonville
2nd Team All-Stars Team Name
Pitcher Medicine Hat Mavericks Jared Libke
Pitcher Swift Current Indians Luke Wiechec
Pitcher Edmonton Prospects Noah Gapp
Relief Pitcher Lethbridge Bulls Mackenzie Major
Relief Pitcher Okotoks Dawgs Taylor Davis
Closing Pitcher Regina Red Sox Sam Brunner
Catcher Yorkton Cardinals Hunter Hisky
1st Base Regina Red Sox Jake Howard
2nd Base Swift Current Indians Shane Dokey
3rd Base Lethbridge Bulls Mitch McGeein
Shortstop Medicine Hat Mavericks William Salas
Outfield Lethbridge Bulls Mike Moffatt
Outfield Medicine Hat Mavericks Alex Alders
Outfield Moose Jaw Miller Express Cutter McDowell
Designated Hitter Yorkton Cardinals Billy Clapperton
Utility Brooks Bombers Dynas Doud


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

February 2017
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
November 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
January 2015
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013