Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

2013 Player Awards and All Stars

08/01/2013 1:49 AM -

July 31, 2013

The Western Major Baseball League is proud to announce the 2013 WMBL Award Winners and the All-stars.  

2013 WMBL Award Winners
Most Valuable Player    
Mike Corso                          Moose Jaw Miller Express    
Rookie of the Year        
Homero Ortiz                      Melville Millionaires    
Canadian Rookie        
Miles Hunter                       Moose Jaw Miller Express  

Pitcher of the Year

Billy Martin                           Medicine Hat Mavericks

Batter of the Year

Thomas Rodriques           Okotoks Dawgs

Coach of the Year        
Shawn Counts                   Melville Millionaires    
WMBL All Stars

First Team    

Homero Ortiz                    Melville Millionaires

Billy Martin                         Medicine Hat    Mavericks    
Anthony Armanio              Swift Current    Indians
Chris Haddeland             Swift Current    Indians

Second Team    

Ryan Castadio                  Medicine Hat    Mavericks
Hayden Cleveland            Okotoks Dawgs    

Ryan Drummond              Regina Red Sox    
Allan Sanchez                    Regina Red Sox    
First Team     

CJ DeDeaux                       Medicne Hat Mavericks

Second Team   

Hank Stewart                     Moose Jaw Miller Express    
ordan Procyshen              Okotoks Dawgs    
First Team   

 Mike Corso                        Moose Jaw Miller Express    
 Kevin Biro                          Melville Millionaires    
 Joel Lutz                            Medicine Hat Mavericks
 Thomas Rodrigues         Okotoks Dawgs    

Second Team   

Sean Kettering                 Okotoks Dawgs    
Guillaume Gingras          Medicine Hat Mavericks
Michael Lukkason           Weyburn Beavers    
Mitch Frey                          Medicine Hat  Mavericks
First Team

Grant Silva                        Medicine Hat    Mavericks    
Jake Gonzalez                 Swift Current    Indians

Zack Burling                    Saskatoon Yellow Jackets

Second Team   

 Miles Hunter                   Moose Jaw Miller Express

Josh Myers                      Okotoks Dawgs    
 Zac Asman                     Okotoks Dawgs    
Designated Hitter        
First Team  

Ryan Bourcier                 Weyburn Beavers    

Second Team   

Matt Cook                        Saskatoon Yellow Jackets  


“Congratulations to each of our award winners for the 2013 summer. Your passion and work ethic throughout the WMBL season has been recognized by the entire league franchises and coaches. Each player should be proud of their achievements knowing that they have been selected as the elite of our premiere summer college baseball league. On behalf of the entire league, I wish each winner plus all of the other WMBL players the best of luck as they return to their respective schools or embark on new life experiences in the fall. Thanks to all of our 250 plus players on providing the fans a memorable season!

Stay tuned as the playoffs began on Wednesday.  I promise that there are more memories and excitement to come!"

Kevin Kvame
Western Major Baseball League