Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

Mavericks 2018 WMBL Champions

08/16/2018 10:30 PM -

Game 5
WMBL Championship Final 
Regina 2 at Medicine Hat 8

(Medicine Hat wins the series 3-2)

The Medicine Hat Mavericks are the 2018 WMBL Champions. The Mavericks defeated the Regina Red Sox 8-2 in front of an over capacity crowd of 2,200 fans at Athletic Park. With the victory, Medicine Hat claimed its third WMBL title. They also won in 2003 and 2014. 

Medicine Hat took control of the game when they jumped to a 6-0 lead after four innings. The Mavericks pitching staff took over from that point. 

Starter Jaymon Cervantes earned the Medicine Hat win allowing just one run over seven innings. The junior from Minot State also struck out six of the 28 Red Sox batters he faced. Reliever Junior Pimentel came out of the bullpen and kept the Regina hitters at bay in the eighth inning. while Tyler Shumpert got the final three outs for the Mavericks in the ninth. 

The Mavericks chased Regina starter Peyton Burks after 2.1 innings. The Clarksville, TN gave up three runs on five hits and two walks in the loss. The Red Sox bullpen finished up the final 5.2 inning giving up three earned runs on eight hits. 

Regina’s runs came from the bat of Matt DeNeau, as he hit his fifth home run of the playoffs in the fifth inning, and Brooks Stotler. Phil Langlois and Danny Hunt each had two hits for the Red Sox. 

Nolan Rattai led the Mavericks offence with three hits and two runs scored. Sal Rodriguez the native of Crystal Lake, IL also scored two runs on two hits and a walk. 

The Mavericks Carson Johnson was named playoff MVP. The Conners State College sophomore hit .333 with four doubles, a triple, 15 RBI and 11 runs scored. 


Game Notes

Wesley Moss had a double and a RBI
Regina left 10 runners on base

Medicine Hat
Colton Wright had two hits including a homer and his 15thplayoff RBI
Jordan Dray wacked a double and had two RBI